I made a cake!

It’s called a hummingbird cake. And I have had no idea where I got this recipe (until I googled my ingredient list).

Surprise! It’s a Paula Deen one. I fucking love her recipes.

This past weekend was my grandma’s birthday, and the Philly triathlon (which my bro-in-law does every year, so they all come out from Ohio), and it turns into a lovely family reunion.

One of my uncles doesn’t like chocolate <gasp!>, so I wanted to make something that he could enjoy, too. I made some chocolate chip cookies on the side to make it up to the rest of the family.

I baked the cakes on Saturday, but waited until Sunday to make the frosting ’cause it was kind of hot out, and I had no cool space large enough to put a whole freaking cake and I was afraid it would all melt into a puddle by party time.

The Cake:
Nonstick baking spray
2 sticks (1 cup) butter, softened
2 cups granulated sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
4 large eggs
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup buttermilk
1 1/2 cups mashed ripe banana (about 4 medium)
One 8-ounce can crushed pineapple
Optional garnishes: sweetened flaked coconut, chopped macadamia nuts

Our cooking spray expired in 2004. We obviously use it often. I just used butter to grease the pans instead, and that worked out just fine. And I don’t like nuts or coconut in my desserts, so I made everyone else suffer with PLAIN. I’m mean.

The Frosting:
2 sticks (1 cup) butter, softened
Two 8-ounce packages cream cheese, softened
2 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

My five year old nephew helped me make the frosting on Sunday. He spooned all the confectioner’s sugar into the mixing bowl for me. And he didn’t drop a grain! That’s better than I would’ve done.

THREE cakes and more cake and frosting and more frosting

And it even gave me a great excuse to use my cake plate that’s been sitting abandoned on top of the fridge for the first time in years.

The party gave a thumbs up on Hummingbird Cake.

Leave a Reply

