Community Supported Agriculture – or – We Bought the Farm!

There’s this farm down by my house – Thornbury Farm to be exact. It has a super interesting history:
It housed the first public library in the county (for the bibliophiles). Was part of the underground railroad (for the history buffs). It was the site of the final troop engagement of the Battle of Brandywine (for the American Revolution folks). And it’s totally haunted (eek!).

Along with all the history, it’s also a working farm. They’ve got a small market where they sell things they grow, eggs from their chickens, and a couple other local products. My mom and I have stopped into the store a time or two. And then found out early in the spring that they had a CSA.

We decided to join this year.

They had a potluck last week for new members. Since my mom was in Canada, I went on my own. We all got a tour of the farm. It started off with me and three other folks, but the one guy’s kid kept wandering off and he had to follow.Image

And the other two ladies had a party to get to. So it ended up being kind of a private tour. ImageI’m fairly decent at keeping things alive. But I’m in no way a wonderful gardener. I tried to grow Brussels sprouts last year in my dad’s square foot gardens – and they grew to about 4 feet – but never produced any sprouts. At least none that I recognized. But I hear Brussels sprouts are tough, so I don’t feel so bad about the failure.

ImageI’m glad that someone else can do all the planning and planting and I can enjoy a much wider variety of vegetables than we could round up at home.

It’s really cool to meet the people who are growing the food you’re going to eat. Sam and I had a couple really cool agricultural conversations that I never in my life expected to have. She even welcomed us to come help weed and plant and harvest if we want.

When we got to the Propagation House, I was lamenting the fact that the super late frost killed some of our tomatoes and peppers before they even had a chance. Sam was like, “well you want me to make you up a to-go pack?!” The wording of it cracked me up.

So she set me up with some beautiful babies: two kinds of tomatoes, two kinds of peppers, an eggplant, and a mystery plant. Even between the tomatoes and peppers, we never labeled which was a jalapeno or a green-to-orange, a cherry tomato or zebra tomato. So they’re all kind of mystery plants!Image

But I’ve got them all out in the gardens now, and they’re growing like weeds. I’m really excited to have some of my own veggies in the garden this year. My dad always does a really great job, but it’s fun to have your own part, ya know?

 

 

Leave a Reply

