So many new delicious things. Why are there people who DON’T COOK?!

So many new delicious things. Why are there people who DON'T COOK?!

I only started cooking relatively recently. At the beginning I felt super comfortable with casseroles and stuff like that because I bake – so a casserole is just baking dinner instead of dessert.

Then I moved to a stove top. Which I STILL hate. I think I just have no idea what low, medium, medium high, and high mean. Tell me to put it on 4. Or 7. Or whatever. (I know, I know. All stoves are different.) But medium-high does not help me. My brain just doesn’t work that way.

But man do I love a grill.

I took to it immediately. I grill all year. In the rain and snow, in the dark, when the wolves and foxes start circling the house (okay, maybe not that last part…)

I’d been sticking to chicken, sausages, and pork chops up until last week. Then I got a hankering for a steak and decided it was time. I was always afraid to get an expensive piece of meat that I would end up ruining. But I picked up some beautiful tenderloins, asked my dad for some supervision, and grilled some damn good steaks.

This weekend, instead of making those shortbread cookies like I said I would, I decided I would spend Memorial Day eating Mexican food.

Not only was it my first attempt at grilling a super thin cut of beef, but it was also my first go at a marinade. The Pioneer Woman has a Beef Fajita recipe on her site (http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2013/03/beef-fajitas/) that I followed. Just…instead of flank steak, I used 2 skirt steaks. And switched up the white sugar for brown sugar – and probably used a tablespoon and a half. Otherwise, pretty much stayed inside the lines.

Super great flavor – a little spicy kick, but mostly just flavorful. I feel like I got lucky and cooked the meat perfectly. Or…who knows…maybe a skirt steak is just the best cut ever. She describes what things should look like when they’re done, which helped me immensely when it came to the veggies.

If you dig a fajita, I suggest trying this one. Dad-O gives a thumbs up, too.

Ingredients
1 whole Beef Flank Steak
1/2 cup Olive Oil
3 Tablespoons Worcestershire Sauce
1/3 cup Lime Juice, Fresh Squeezed
3 cloves Garlic, Minced
1 Tablespoon Cumin
1 Tablespoon Chili Powder
1/2 teaspoon Red Pepper Flakes
1 teaspoon Salt
1/2 teaspoon Black Pepper
1 Tablespoon Sugar
2 whole Medium Onions, Halved And Sliced
1 whole Red Bell Pepper, Sliced
1 whole Orange Bell Pepper, Sliced
1 whole Green Bell Pepper, Sliced
1 whole Yellow Bell Pepper, Sliced
Oil, For Frying
Flour Tortillas, Warmed
Cheese (grated Cheddar/jack Or Crumbled Queso Fresco)
Salsa
Sour Cream
Cilantro Leaves
Preparation Instructions
In a dish, mix together olive oil, Worcestershire, lime juice, garlic, cumin, chili powder, red pepper flakes, salt, pepper, and sugar until combined. Pour half of the marinade into a separate dish. In one dish, place the flank steak, turning it over to coat. In the second dish, place all the veggies, turning to coat. Cover the dishes with plastic wrap and place in the fridge for at least 2 hours.
Prepare tortillas, salsa, sour cream, and cilantro.
Heat a heavy skillet over medium-high heat and drizzle in some oil. Add the veggies and cook them for a few minutes, until they’re cooked but still slightly firm and have nice black/brown pieces. Remove to a plate and set aside.
Heat the same same skillet (or a grill pan if you have it) over high heat and drizzle some oil. Cook the meat for about 2 minutes per side until medium rare. Remove and allow to rest on a cutting board for 5 minutes.
Slice the meat right before serving and serve with all the fixins. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

