Shark Bread (aka Happy St. Patrick’s Day!)

We pretended St. Patrick’s Day was yesterday. My brother-in-law is not Irish (as far as I know. but I don’t know much about his heritage. I guess he could totally be Irish.) but he loves to make the traditional Corned Beef and Cabbage meal for St. Pat’s. And I love to eat just about anything he cooks, so I hauled ass over to eat food and hold their new baby. Er..I mean..”give them a break from taking care of a newborn.” (I did also play with their three-year-old for a while, so I feel like I earned it.)

There was beer (I don’t like Guinness. the stout. I like the brewery): harp premium lager

And Jeff made bread:

 sourdough bread

which I said looked like a shark. You saw it, too. Don’t lie. So we immediately made it into shark bread. Sans fins: 

shark bread

 

and then he was all, “it won’t be ready for another hour, but if you’d like a few minutes of pure torture, I’ll let you sneak a peek in the crock pot.” I accepted: 

crock pot corned beef

 

He plated it quite nicely:

 plated corned beef

 

then quick made us some cabbage. And TA DA! Dinner: 

 corned beef and cabbage and bread

 

May the road rise up to meet you
May the wind be always at your back
May the sun shine warm upon your face
The rain fall soft upon your fields
And until we meet again
May God hold you in the palm of his hand.

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day to YOU!

 

Leave a Reply

