Dinner at Iron Hill aka Tapas! (or alternately: I’m Now In Love with Goat Cheese)

Dinner at Iron Hill aka Tapas! (or alternately: I'm Now In Love with Goat Cheese)

My friend Joe and I have been getting together a whole bunch recently, and I love it. I’ve known him since the 6th grade, and sometimes we fall out of touch, but we always get together for at least one ski trip and a couple dinner dates a year.

Last time we decided to go to dinner, we had planned on Iron Hill, but when we arrived? They were closed for renovations. Figured we’d give it a second go Tuesday night. Joe was set on one thing: Tapas! It’s pretty easy to convince me to do stuff, and I’m completely indecisive, so I said yes.

I love what wiki says about tapas:
The serving of tapas is designed to encourage conversation because people are not so focused upon eating an entire meal that is set before them.

And that’s exactly what happened. Although…our conversation was frequently dedicated to talking about the food.

Our final decisions were (pulled directly from their menu):
Stuffed Piquillo Peppers
goat cheese, almonds, fresh herbs, lemon zest and olive oil

Fried Brussels Sprouts
olive oil, lemon, black pepper and pecorino romano

Chicken Wings
classic buffalo, blue cheese dressing, carrot and celery sticks

P.E.I. Mussels
white wine, leeks, garlic, lemon and cream

Beef Brisket Flatbread
caramelized onions, arugula, vermont white cheddar and horseradish cream

Verdicts:
Flatbread? I don’t feel like I can give a fair vote on this one. I got it to go and microwaved it later. That’ll mess up any meal. But the brisket was tasty.
The wings? Good. Basic wings. Cooked well. Spiiiicy. But not outrageously so.
Brussels Sprouts? Delish! I love sprouts. These were much better than my plain steamed ones (not hard to do). The pecorino really killed it. (and that’s “killed it” as a term of praise. they were awesome.)
Mussels? These were just for Joe. I don’t eat seafood. I try random things once or twice a year to be sure I still don’t like them (I’ve been previously surprised at my changing taste buds and don’t want to miss out on delicious things). The texture of mussels is no good to me, but I tried the sauce. Thumbs up. Joe said they were excellent.
AND THE PEPPERS! Oh my. From looking at the menu, I had an idea in my head of what they would taste like. They were nowhere close to that. They were SO much better. Possibly the best thing I’ve ever had at Iron Hill. I hope they can keep them on the menu for quite a while. So delicate, but the lemon zest really complemented the flavor of the cheese – and it was super light and creamy (but not in that “stick to every part of your mouth for 20 minutes” kind of way. A clean creamy). I’ve never had warm goat cheese. But I am determined to learn how to cook with it now.

And that, my friends, was dinner.

Leave a Reply

