Chicken! In a Crock Pot!

I really like the idea of a crock pot, but just about every time I try something, it doesn’t turn out the way I want. It tastes okay, but the texture is off. 

One day in January I saw this recipe come through my Facebook time line, and though, “oh that sounds tasty. I should try that.” And so I did. That very same night. And it was good. No. It was better than good. I think I’ve made it three times in the last two months. 

If I’m correct, the original recipe came from here. It’s so simple. The hardest part is mincing a couple cloves of garlic. And waiting. It’s hard to wait once you start smelling it waft through the house.

Behold. The recipe: 
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon dried basil
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
2 teaspoons dried minced onion
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
8 boneless, skinless chicken thighs (about 24 ounces) or breasts
sprinkle of fresh chopped parsley

I skip the parsley, add a little extra garlic and olive oil, and use heaping (half-heaping?) teaspoons instead of normal ones…but otherwise pretty much follow the recipe. 

Mix the dry stuff in a bowl (the first five ingredients, just in case you were stumped)dry spices

Mince your garlic and toss it in the pot with the olive oil. I think I used maybe two or three (or four) tablespoons instead of one. Either way, make sure it’s the good stuff.  crock pot garlic olive oil

Cover both sides of your chicken bits with the dry spices. dry spiced chickens

 

Lay them all on the bottom of the crock pot. Gently pour the balsamic vinegar on top (again, make sure it’s the good stuff). And turn that baby on! balsamic vinegar chicken

Four hours on high, and you’ve got some bangin’ chicken. bangin' crock pot chicken

 

Sorry I didn’t plate it nice and pretty for you. I was too busy eating. 

 

Leave a Reply

