Finally got around…

So I finally got around to cooking all those things last night.

I had originally intended to make that balsamic crockpot chicken again, but….it takes 4 hours and I – once again – wasn’t going to be home that long. I found another recipe where I could use the chicken thighs I bought. I had also gotten buttermilk at the store, so I thought, “hey! that could be nice. I’ve heard a thing or two about buttermilk and chicken, right?” Amazing the things you can find on the internet. Indeed, chicken and buttermilk go together.

Very well, I might add.

Found a recipe that takes 5 minutes to put together and an hour to bake:
Southwest Buttermilk Baked Chicken Thighs.

Ingredients

  • 10 boneless skinless chicken thighs
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1 teaspoon Lawry’s Garlic Salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup buttermilk

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Place chicken thighs into a 9×13 inch baking dish. Place cumin, paprika, garlic salt, salt and pepper into a small bowl. Mix to combine then sprinkle over tops of chicken thighs. Pour buttermilk over top, cover baking dish loosely with tin foil and bake for 1 hour. Remove and let rest for 10 minutes before serving. Serve with your favorite roasted vegetables and salad if desired.

I only had 8 thighs in my package instead of 10. But that was no biggie. I think that was the only way I changed the recipe this time. I decided to spread them out flat so the tops could catch more of the spices, so mine didn’t look quite like Picky Palate’s, but dude…they were SO GOOD.

Super easy recipe (like…mix spices in a bowl and pour buttermilk on top easy), super moist, and very tasty. I might play with this one some day and change up some of the spices just for variety, but there’s no actual reason to do that other than I can’t leave a recipe alone.

 

Leave a Reply

